our living bodies

I read or hear or observe how we are endangering life on this planet several times a day. So do you probably. I’ll notice I’m not breathing. I’ll realize I’m afraid.

But then I visit a gardener, a farmer or someone living on the land and am showered with their abundance. Today my fridge overflows with varieties of lettuce and kale no supermarket has heard of and I just spent two hours in the garden transplanting more gifts.

It still strikes me as possible we could wake up and celebrate our mortality; there’s enough for us all to share here on this good earth.

Thanks Amanda Tipton for sharing the photo.

Thanks Amanda Tipton for sharing the photo.

Ernest Becker, adopting a phrase from Luther, says you must

“…taste death with the lips of your living body [so] that you can know emotionally that you are a creature who will die”

Leave a Reply

